I've stopped blogging much or doing political lj'ing much lately, because the whole 2-party thing is really really really depressing me. Is it me, or just the fundamental wrongness? Hard to tell.
But you know the state of political debate is in a bad way when the Daily Show makes you want to cry.
That said. There is a billboard I drove past the other day that has a weird-angled picture of a cute fat boy eating a burger, with the caption "feeding kids meat is child abuse". Seriously.
Yes, of course it's PETA. And it's almost pointless to protest because of that - they're trying to be assholes and extremists. But I can't believe people who see real child abuse and neglect haven't gone and torn the thing down by now.
But you know the state of political debate is in a bad way when the Daily Show makes you want to cry.
That said. There is a billboard I drove past the other day that has a weird-angled picture of a cute fat boy eating a burger, with the caption "feeding kids meat is child abuse". Seriously.
Yes, of course it's PETA. And it's almost pointless to protest because of that - they're trying to be assholes and extremists. But I can't believe people who see real child abuse and neglect haven't gone and torn the thing down by now.
(no subject)
Date: 2005-05-27 11:37 am (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2005-05-27 02:02 pm (UTC)My "favorite" stunt of theirs is this bit, over in their bumper sticker shop:
http://www.petacatalog.org/products.asp?dept=5&pagenumber=4
wherein they have two bumper stickers, side by side:
"Pro-Life? Go Vegan!" and "Pro-Choice? Choose Vegan!"
Which bothers me because it suggests it doesn't matter what you think of human women's control over their own bodies... as long as you're vegan. And well, all the bits they spout about how if you're against [insert oppression here] you're a hypocrite if you're not also veg*n don't seem so convincing to me if other oppressions are issues veg*ns can just ignore.
(Yes, I understand that there's such a thing as being personally pro-life and politically pro-choice. But will the average person who see that sticker get that? I don't think so, and I doubt PETA cares.)
(no subject)
Date: 2005-05-29 07:45 pm (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2005-05-29 07:47 pm (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2005-05-29 08:06 pm (UTC)And PETA's history would certainly back up your impression.
(no subject)
Date: 2005-05-28 09:25 am (UTC)http://www.1monique.com/index.php?option=content&task=view&id=13&Itemid=29
just a hunch.