keryx: (Default)
[personal profile] keryx
Just for those who want to know the details & stories...

Saturday: Arrived at Pennsic. Immediately had our tent whisked away by beautiful boy (yay for Man Whores - when I've been driving for 8 hours, I find myself less do-it-myselfy). Mostly just settled in. And put on garbishness. Yum! Also, invited to dinner, which we enjoyed and parties, which [livejournal.com profile] cutegaychick and I declined in favor of falling asleep around midnight.

Sunday: Walked and walked and walked. Took an unguided tour of Pennsic. I think the swimming hole may have been involved. Finished setting up. Probably attended some kind of party? Definitely walked up to take a shower at some point. Ran into like everyone from VA (C'ville peeps, F'burg peeps, the great and powerful Mab). It's all very blurry.

Monday: Very muggy. Bought a pretty ghawazee/enteri coat made of a Chinese satin while [livejournal.com profile] cutegaychick drummed. Spent most of the day lazing at the swimming hole (which is basically a very very cold mountain stream) throwing a ball around with a bunch of naked strangers. Nudity at Pennsic, like a lot of places, actually seems to make people less self-conscious and sexualized. Monday night we missed all our party plans (including dressing up like bellydance zombies) cause it rained. A LOT. So we all curled up in the common area and made out (or rather, the girls made out). I wouldn't lick pixie stick sugar off anyone because *ugh* that stuff is nasty. Had a really good time talking to Jen (of Claudia and) while everyone sat around half-naked. Oh, and this is when having brought assloads of cloves started making me friends.

Tuesday: Attempted drum class, but too lazy. I think. Or was that Wednesday? Did I mention the blurry? Definitely also found my 25 yard deep purple skirt, cause I wore it to Orluk Oasis Tuesday night. Spent more time at the swimming hole, then danced at the Orluk hafla - which is populated by most of the more famous drummers at Pennsic, AFAIK. They started busting out the 9/8 and 5/8 craziness later in the night. HEAVEN! I even had a protege at one point - a less experienced dancer who asked if I could lead. I'm fairly certain Tuesday night ended with some fun, possibly quite loud, rolling around (although I didn't yet know how to sign "kinky sex later tonight?"). Touched a bone & was hit on the head with an inflatable penis (both just cause peeps asked if I wanted to, and I was trying to say yes to everything). Lots of innuendo at Pennsic - hey, it's a buncha geeks in the woods in Pennsylvania dressed like pirates!

Wednesday: Got up in the morning to watch a fake army storm a fake castle. That was fun! Did some other stuff. Went to the swimming hole. At some point we dyed bits of our hair blue and did henna, but the former might have happened Monday. Started learning sign language, which is a blast (I've been working on it since I got home, too - I forgot how absolutely thrilling it is to learn new languages). And I think Wednesday was the "midnight madness" thing where the merchants & musicians stayed out late to entertain everyone. Went to Men Without Pants, which is a party where men can't wear pants or undies. [livejournal.com profile] cutegaychick and I worked "the gauntlet" for a bit along the same "say yes to any offer to do something odd" principle, which meant that we checked guys for pants. Thank $DEITY for hand sanitizer. Wednesday also ended like Tuesday (that was fun).

Thursday: Truly fell into the habits of the Whores of Babylon, who have a song:
we are the whores
who don't do anything
but stay at home
and lay around
and if you ask us
to do anything
we'll say that we don't do anything
for free


While in fact they're kind, sweet & generous peeps who pretty much only do things for free, and tend to more make out with each other and their partners than any "whoring" behavior, the Whores are basically a get up late, lay about, drinks at breakfast, lunch, dinner & parties kind of crew. The rest of the week we did stuff, but by Thursday we were full-on Whores. Though we did get up and watch one of our brethren get squired, have coffee, go to drum class, go to dance class (which was okay, vs. the drumming class that was amazing)... and then come back to lay about and drink. I mean, those of us who do drink, drank. And stood in the swimming hole. And then went to an early evening daiquiri party, followed I think by the fried food party and something with sushi. Or was that another night? I am an amazingly optimistic drunk, and the walk with slight buzz to the shower may have been one of my favorite Pennsic moments. I was catching individual bubbles and bits of campfire dust as I ran up and down hills. Later, I left cgc to do some flirting of her own (after mine failed abyssmally) and caught part of a hafla and a variety of bits of parties on my own. That wasn't so much fun, though - with my peeps, no one hit on or got all cheesily "chivalric" on me, but it just would not stop when I was on my own.

Friday: Good day! We all started packing up bits of the common areas. Of course, only after breakfast involving vodka, chili and... um, noon. I did dishes by hand! It was fun - I hadn't handwashed dishes in longer than I can remember. Everyone was stealing my smokes, and the camp formerly known as non-smoking was suddenly littered with people working with cloves hanging off their lips [Except! I must note, [livejournal.com profile] cutegaychick did not smoke even once all week!]. And I traded the daily swimming hole trip for falling asleep in the common area & woke up to a pretty boy petting me *sigh*. Eventually it got late enough for dinner, we finally took showers, and dragged ourselves "topside" (that is, to the food & stuff vending areas) for dinner.

Friday night was my favorite of the parties - that's the night I was an honorary Boy Whore & went out with the boys, who are all great fun & actually wandered rather than just sitting still. There was some kissing and [livejournal.com profile] chubbyninja totally danced with fire in exchange for free drinks & ended up getting a favor (little award thing) from the King & Queen of Pennsylvania (well, they call it Aethelmarc, but it's Pennsylvania). That was followed by some light moping (I think I mentioned the me + flirting = rejection equation, yes?) before [livejournal.com profile] cutegaychick got home & we went back out. And oooooohhh... I danced. I danced and danced. It felt soooo good. Just let me get hot and sweaty dancing and I can be happy about anything, I tell ya.

Saturday: We got up early, it rained, there was tension and snappiness and general sadness that we missed saying goodbye to most everyone. But we did get packed up and out before 10 am, so I think we performed well all told. We got home around 6, and I ran errands [hey, I needed dinner! and boxes! and um, a good sign language book...] before I even headed back to my house and proceeded to sleep for most of the following 24 hours.

(no subject)

Date: 2006-08-21 06:35 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] cutegaychick.livejournal.com
I want my scrambled eggs and naked girls! *grumble*
Mundania sucks!

(no subject)

Date: 2006-08-21 06:39 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] keryx.livejournal.com
Hmmm... well, what're ya doing Saturday morning? I got your scrambled eggs and naked girls right here.

(no subject)

Date: 2006-08-21 06:45 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] cutegaychick.livejournal.com
Alas, I'm mostly booked up for Saturday. I do have 18 other people to sleep with y'know! But I bet I've got time somewhere in there for naked girls and scrambled eggs. I'll check my life as soon as I remember where I left it.

(no subject)

Date: 2006-08-21 06:46 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] keryx.livejournal.com
You poor thing. Where'd the 18th come from? I thought I was #18, not #19.

(no subject)

Date: 2006-08-21 06:59 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] cutegaychick.livejournal.com
Actually, Saturday morning is breakfast with my rents, which may involve scrambled eggs, but thankfully no nudity.

And I don't know about number 19. I just received word today that my list is growing, so I assume that there must be at least one new one on there. When I identify him or her, I'll let you know.

(no subject)

Date: 2006-08-21 09:40 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] keryx.livejournal.com
I want veto power over numbers 11-19. Cause anything over 10 is starting to infringe on my time, and I know you already got the I am the center of the universe memo, right?

(no subject)

Date: 2006-08-21 11:28 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] cutegaychick.livejournal.com
Yeah, I'm pretty sure I don't offer up veto power. Cause, if I did, just think about how many people were in line in front of you who would have had veto power over YOU?

(no subject)

Date: 2006-08-22 12:28 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] keryx.livejournal.com
I think they totally should've had that power!

(no subject)

Date: 2006-08-21 09:21 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] arovd.livejournal.com
when did it go from 6 to 18?!?

(no subject)

Date: 2006-08-21 09:35 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] keryx.livejournal.com
19, apparently! She's adding them all the time!

September 2020

S M T W T F S
  12345
678 9101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930   

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags