shopping advice?
Mar. 13th, 2007 01:08 pmI need a new bed. I was going to just go to IKEA, but the reason I need a new bed at all... is because my 2-yr-old IKEA bed broke. Not in a joint-coming-apart way, either, but in a vital-piece-of-particle-board-cracking-in-half way. So maybe I don't need another IKEA thing, even if it is only $200. Putting this one together took 2 people roughly 6 hours. Not to mention the 2 hours to put together the dresser that also cracked (when being moved - slightly more forgiveable).
I really like the low, modern platformishness of this bed. Where do I find something a) solid, b) flat & and c) put together by someone else that also has the euromodern or midcenturymodern thing going on? How much money is reasonable to spend on bedroom furniture (presumably I'm not going to replace the bed with another in the same shape and color, so will also want a nightstand and dresser/teeveestand)?
I really like the low, modern platformishness of this bed. Where do I find something a) solid, b) flat & and c) put together by someone else that also has the euromodern or midcenturymodern thing going on? How much money is reasonable to spend on bedroom furniture (presumably I'm not going to replace the bed with another in the same shape and color, so will also want a nightstand and dresser/teeveestand)?
(no subject)
Date: 2007-03-13 09:22 pm (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2007-03-13 11:51 pm (UTC)I'll check out the futon store - I wouldn't have thought of that. I went by the higher-rent IKEA (EQ3) in town today and found something I really like, too.
(no subject)
Date: 2007-03-13 11:34 pm (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2007-03-13 11:44 pm (UTC)Currently I'm working on just sleeping on the right side of the bed, which is still vertical. :)
I will freecycle/thrift many things, but absolutely not my bed. It's a weird thing I have - I slept in beds other people gave me for years, and it's absurdly important to me that mine be "mine".
(no subject)
Date: 2007-03-14 12:19 am (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2007-03-14 02:36 am (UTC)Screwed up pre-drilled holes suck. That's never happened to me, but it would slowly make me crazy.