keryx: (assholes)
[personal profile] keryx
So, the veep debate last night? They both, not so shockingly, came across as giant asshats. In my book, Cheney wiped the floor with Edwards' Kennedyesque mop top, as the former came across as at least a polished, professional asshat while the latter was doing a really good impression of a not-too-bright high school kid. Nevertheless, there was a lot of asshattery on that stage.

I hate them both.

Says Edwards' spin doctor: Tonight, in Cleveland, John Edwards showed real strength and conviction
(He did do an excellent job of answering any question asked as if it were actually a question about whatever he most wanted to talk about. They both rocked out on that, actually. Maybe they were wearing earplugs.)

-- he was in command of the facts and in control of the debate and a powerful advocate for John Kerry.
(He mentioned none of his own opinions except that he really, really hates gay people. I really should have counted the number of times he said "John Kerry" when he wasn't supposed to. Although, what's with that rule, anyhow?)

The American people saw John Edwards as somebody who is ready, if neccessary, to be president of the United States.
(My cat is also ready, if necessary, to be president. Doesn't mean I'd want to vote for her. And that goes double for Cheney.)

I'd dissect Cheney's spin doctoring, too, but I don't subscribe to that campaign's email list. I'm not a glutton for punishment.
(deleted comment)

(no subject)

Date: 2004-10-06 03:48 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] keryx.livejournal.com
The temptation to write in "oh, god, please... any real Democrat you can come up with" is great.

(no subject)

Date: 2004-10-06 03:30 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] tartedelune.livejournal.com
I thought the shining moment was when Gwen Ilfil (sp?) asked them about the issues of AIDS among young African-American women, and they both just talked about the international AIDS problem. Clearly they knew nothing about the AIDS issues at home. They looked like the oblivious rich white men that they are.

Jackasses.
(deleted comment)

(no subject)

Date: 2004-10-06 03:47 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] keryx.livejournal.com
Pathetically, Mr. Asshat Cheney came off as slightly less of a worm in that interaction, too - he admitted to not knowing anything about AIDS in the US before he shot off in a completely random direction (didn't public schools come up somewhere in there?). What a missed opportunity for Mop Top.

(no subject)

Date: 2004-10-06 04:00 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] tartedelune.livejournal.com
Seriously!

I had the same hope. Instead he went on some bullshit tangent about preventative health care. I started yelling at the t.v. at that point.

I also want to say something about the racial undertones of that exchange, but I haven't formulated my thoughts very clearly yet. Suffice it to say that it demonstrated the priorities of the politicians, which unsurprisingly ignores issues of people of color.

(no subject)

Date: 2004-10-06 07:21 pm (UTC)
firecat: red panda, winking (Default)
From: [personal profile] firecat
I only watched a little bit of the debate, but I thought Edwards came across better. Cheney's body language was closed and defensive.

I didn't at all like what Edwards was saying though.

September 2020

S M T W T F S
  12345
678 9101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930   

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags